“I was the one with the world at my feet”

I feel the dynamics in my relationships with people have shifted greatly without me noticing the gradual movement, until one day I find myself on a completely different island from them, with no connecting bridge whatsoever. Over the recent years I’ve come to terms with cutting people out of my life (and having me cut off from theirs) but I never expected to find myself in a situation where even the trusted handful would dwindle in numbers. I could take the sole blame for being completely out of sync with people these days – what with having a full-time job and progressing into a workaholic –  but a small part of me can’t help thinking that maybe –

The fact that the frequency of all of our lives aren’t on the same wavelength anymore, it would have to take two hands to clap to make happen, no?

Or is this what you call a “natural progression”, when something has run its course…?

It’s 11 in the morning and I need a breather.

Leave a Reply

