“Tiring of trying, there’s an unnecessary dying”

I should’ve seen this coming. Should’ve kept my hopes down (to my credit, I made more effort to suppress them this time round), should’ve seen the signs, should’ve realized earlier that sometimes you are the sole victim of a relationship with someone when you make more effort than the other party does. I’m talking about a relationship with anyone – a friend, a family member, a lover.

Still can’t help the disappointment creeping in though; it was the last chance for it to happen and just like the previous chances, this one got blown.

Maybe it wasn’t anyone’s fault this time, but still.

Hardly anything surprises me much anymore, I guess.

Note to self: never give away too much of yourself to anyone, ever again. How many hard lessons do you need before that gets into your head?

