“Don’t let me wipe these tears from my eyes; Don’t let me despise you yet”

So, look –

I don’t have any qualms with anyone wanting to reconnect with me. Try to revive or salvage a lost friendship that was filled with good times and good memories; I’m all for that. Call me out for coffee or a drink once in a while, chit and chat over issues of the heart and mind; you name it, we’d do that.

But no word for months on end and suddenly you’re giving me all the attention? Hitting me with IMs, texting and calling out of the blue when we’ve not had proper conversations since you got up & left?

Of course I’d get suspicious. Something smells fishy. I’m seeing flashing neon lights, warning me to stay away.

I’m not a yo-yo that you let go and rewind whenever you please. I’m a human being who has feelings and whose walls get built higher with every friendship lost. It’s like, all the trust I invested in that friendship just went up in flames. I don’t give the time of the day nor second or third chances to people who ditch their friends just because they get tied down to a significant other. You’re not even married, but you act as if you’re locked to balls & chains.

I understand the need for some space and distance but don’t give me shit about being unable to make time; that’s the problem when you revolve your life too much around one person. I’d give you the sympathy card since things are over between the two of you but when you find yourself all alone in the end cos you’ve managed to ostracize yourself from all your other friends, I call it bad karma that you rightfully deserve.

I’ve been hurt too many times and have lost too many friendships that I’ve come to a point where I literally think twice about getting close to someone, about trusting someone. I’m probably the number one person who’s all for rekindling lost relationships with anyone, but when I’ve grown tired of grasping at the last few straws of something, I don’t turn back and try again.

All I’m saying, is that you shouldn’t be making better excuses to save yourself the guilt. You should be making better efforts at not throwing friendships into the trash.

Leave a Reply

