“How you swoon me, like no other”

untitled

I have to admit, I’m not one for big birthday bashes.

I know that almost everyone wishes for a massive birthday celebration at least once in their life, but I guess I lost those expectations somewhere down the road of growing up (though I’m still looking forward to my 21st). Call me cynical, but it’s just one of those things that lost its vigour & meaning. You expect so much, and sometimes you get disappointed cos things don’t turn out the way you want them to. So you stop expecting anything and hope for the least bit of fulfilment instead, but when even that doesn’t come round, the disappointment just amplifies and the void in you grows.

But sometimes, something happens that restores your faith, and all is right again.

Albeit the epic failing of all surprises, I got to spend last night with a bunch of people I truly care for. It was still an awesome way to have a 19th, and I want to thank each and every single one of you who made it possible. Also, to everyone from all over the world who remembered (or got reminded, but regardless) & wished me, you guys mean more than anything to me right now.

To the people who’ve kept me grounded throughout the years, who’ve loved me despite of my scars & flaws; needless to say, I am truly humbled to have you in my life.

I feel beyond lucky to be surrounded by such amazing people; most of the time I wonder whether they’re God-sent.

Spent the last few hours of my birthday with a small cake, the sister, her beloved mooncake & CSI on the telly. It didn’t seem to matter for a moment that my Dad didn’t remember, cos things couldn’t have ended off on a better note.

Cheers to the next twelve months of being nineteen. As the elders always say – “a year older, a year wiser“, but I’m tired of being wise, so pardon me if I falter for a minute or two to enjoy a delicious Waterfall 😉

Bisous,

One thought on ““How you swoon me, like no other”

Leave a Reply

