“They’ll tell me the secrets of the world”

I’m obviously fairly late in coming up with a birthday wishlist, and I initially didn’t want to do so until a close friend of mine confessed she was at her wits end about it. Which then made me realize that I don’t usually make any birthday wishlist public; that’s just being too full of myself.

But since it is my birthday today afterall, the ongoing financial crisis, and that fact that I do feel rather old (just a year away from official adulthood), I decided to be full of myself just this once (I think) and put up a “Happy nineteenth birthday to myself, I wish I could own you” wish list πŸ™‚

It took me some time to come up with this, by the way.

It’s categorized according to type, but in no particular order whatsoever:

Bourjois Clubbing Mascara

Bourjois Volume Clubbing Mascara

L'oreal Voluminuous Mascara Custom Curved Brush

L’Oreal Voluminous Mascara Custom Curved Brush

Handle with Care

Jodi Picoult’s ‘Handle With Care’

Lolita

Vladimir Nabokov’s ‘Lolita’

Most Beautiful Book In The World

Eric-Emmanuel Schmitt’s ‘The Most Beautiful Book in the World’

Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3

Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3

Canon Powershot G9

Canon Powershot G9

ANU

SGD $27,000 or a scholarship to the Australian National University’s
School of Arts & Social Sciences
so I can do a BA in Art History & Curatorship

*

Now of course I’m fully aware that the last three – especially that last one – might be a teeny bit impossible, even for me, but hey a nineteen year old can still dare to dream right?

It’s not like I’mΒ  expecting anything; I never do, because to me, birthdays come every year and age can sometimes be an unwanted visitor. I literally woke up this morning feeling no different from any other day, which kinda disappointed me cos I wanted to feel the slightest bit euphoric. The only major milestone for me today was getting to the office half an hour early, which never happened again after the first day so I was pretty stoked in the morning.

Though I guess I should be thankful for the wonders of FaceBook for bringing everyone together, and now my Gmail inbox is full of birthday wishes on my wall.

I’m just over the moon about that fact that people remembered to wish me, is all πŸ™‚

So. Nineteen? Meh, that just means I’m a couple of years closer to turning 21, after which I ‘d want to stop turning older, thank you very much. You know what they say – β€œLive Fast, Die Young”, & maybe stay pretty.

Thank you so much for making me feel this much loved, guys & dolls. I don’t think anyone has the slightest clue how many times I’ve smiled within the span of less than 12 hours.

Gros bisous,
β™₯

5 thoughts on ““They’ll tell me the secrets of the world”

  1. oooh i’ve used the bourjois one. it’s good, but it dried up pretty fast in the tube. it was like whoooosh, can’t use anymore.

    i’m using the l’oreal voluminous mascara now, but not the curved brush. it’s good, but you need to rajin clean off at night lah (it’s super strong the staying power), cos if still got mascara on your lashes the next day and you put on more mascara, the lashes will clump like mad.

  2. Nur Aini:
    Yeah mine was the Bourjois one but it’s dried up & I desperately need a new mascara that volumnizes with an extra oomph. I’m using Rimmel right now cos I couldn’t find the Bourjois nor L’Oreal one & it doesn’t volumnize enough!

Leave a Reply

