“The Storyteller”

as i write this, there is not one word that is registering in my mind right now; i’ve no idea what to write, nor why i’m writing this, it’s just a flowing stream of words that is the result of my disbelief at this moment.
It hit closer to home, even closer than when news of Michael Jackson’s death hit the world. For some reason it feels like a revolution of death that’s crawling it’s way into the world right now. inevitable everyone’s bound to die some day and it’s general knowledge that with every second passing, a life is taken away just as a new life is born. so why does it feel like there’s a sudden influx? and not just any people; the good people, the ones with a purpose and with their life set in perfect motion for them, they’re the ones leaving, the ones being taken away.
I fell in love with Yasmin Ahmad the day I watched Gubra. Not as a lover per se, but her ideas, her words, her works. she was eloquent to the tee, and dexterous beyond what I can ever dream to be. her talent knows no boundaries; she is a woman that I truly respect and admire. a woman who chose to think outside the box but who stood firm on her morals and dignity.
if you asked me to list down the names of five women in history whom I truly admired and would make my role model, there is no doubt she would be on my list.
How do I put this tragedy in words that would give her justice? I’m unable to, because words alone cannot describe this woman. It’d have to be like a natural instinct, to either love her or not to love her. She was an inspiration like no other, and I guess it’s reeling me way off track this time round because we’re only separated by one or two degrees and I had already planned to meet her on her next trip here.
I am nearly loathing myself for missing her the last time round.
I’m just stunned. In utter disbelief, and downright speechless.
Makes you realize that we could all just drop dead at any moment.

yasmin1

As I write this, there is not one word that is registering in my mind right now; I’ve no idea what to write nor why I’m writing this, it’s just a flowing stream of words that is the result of my disbelief at this moment.

It hit closer to home, even closer than when news of Michael Jackson’s death hit the world. For some reason it feels like a revolution of death that’s crawling it’s way into the world right now. Though inevitably, everyone’s bound to die some day and it’s general knowledge that with every second passing, a life is taken away just as a new life is born. So why does it feel like there’s a sudden influx of people passing? & not just any people but the good people; the ones with a purpose and with their life set in perfect motion for them; they’re the ones leaving, the ones being taken away.

yasmin4

If you’re Malaysian, there is little doubt that you’ve heard of Yasmin Ahmad. If you’re Singaporean, she was the brains behind this video:

I fell in love with Kak Yasmin the day I watched Gubra. Not as a lover per se, but her ideas, her words, her works. She was eloquent to the tee, and dexterous beyond what I can ever dream to be. Her talent knows no boundaries; she is a woman that I truly respect and admire. A woman who chose to think outside the box but who stood firm on her morals and dignity.

Kak Yasmin was determined and purposeful, in every sense of the words.

If you asked me to list down the names of five women in history whom I truly admired and would make my role model, there is no doubt she would be on my list.

How do I put this tragedy in words that would give her justice? I’m unable to, because words alone cannot describe this woman. It’d have to be like a natural instinct, to either love her or not to love her. She was an inspiration like no other, and I guess it’s reeling me way off track this time round because we’re only separated by one or two degrees and I had already planned to meet her on her next trip here.

yasmin7

I am nearly loathing myself for missing her the last time round.

I’m not a diehard fan like some of my friends are and if I’m grieving over this like I am now, I cannot imagine how they are taking it in.

I’m just stunned. In utter disbelief, and downright speechless.

I’m still reading her blog, and I just cannot believe the last few days unfolded the way they did for her.

Makes you realize that we could all just drop dead at any moment, hey?

Leave a Reply

